> Diversity News Magazine media sponsor of Hero Awards : Diversity News Publications | Diversity News Magazine | Diversity News TV | Diversity News Radio | Diversity News Magazine Awards | Miss and Mrs Diversity | Miss Diversity News | Steven Escobar | Esteban Escobar | Diversity News 3960 | Diversity News Productions

Diversity News Magazine Media Partner for The 5th Annual HERO Awards Hosted by Debra Wilson

Stonewall Young Democrats HERO Awards 2011
Shop Blackberry at AT&T
Our magazine Diversity News is an official and proud media sponsor of the Stonewall Young Democrats 5th Annual HERO Awards. Please read story published on Diversity  News Magazine and Examiner.com

On May 17, 2011 The Stonewall Young Democrats (SYD), announced that the Honorable Betty Yee as the Honorary Awards Chairwoman and MadTV’s Debra Wilson as the Mistress of Ceremonies of  the 5th Annual HERO Awards to be held on August 20, 2011 at the Sheraton Gateway LAX located at 6101 West Century Boulevard in Los Angeles, CA 90045 from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm.

The Honorable Betty Yee has served as a Member and Chairwoman of the Board of Equalization, the only elected tax commission in the nation. She is the former Chief Deputy Director for Budget with the California Department of Finance where she led the development of the Governor’s Budget, negotiations with the Legislature and key budget stakeholders, and fiscal analyses of legislation on behalf of the Administration. Betty Yee is a native of San Francisco.

Comedienne and actress Debra Wilson was the third longest-serving original cast member on the sketch comedy series MADtv, having appeared for the show’s first eight seasons. She has also done voice work for the animated series American Dad!Family GuyThe Proud Family, and many others. Debra Wilson has also made many independent films, including Jane White is Sick and Twisted, Sink Deep and Soul Mates. Debra Wilson is a strong ally of the LGBT Community and supports Marriage Equality.

The following individuals will be honored at the event: American Actress Candis Cayne (ABC’s Dirty Sexy Money), Hon. Mark Leno, California State Senator, Hon. Donna Groman, LA Superior Court Judge and Hon. Anthony Portantino, California State Assembly-member.

Read about Honorees for the 5th Annual HERO Awards:

  • Visionary Award: Candis Cayne. Candis Cayne is an American Actress & Performance Artist. Cayne came to national attention in 2007 for portraying transgender mistress Carmelita on ABC’s prime time drama Dirty Sexy Money. The role makes Candis Cayne the first transgender actress to play a recurring transgender character in prime time.
  • Trailblazer Award: Senator Mark Leno. Senator Leno serves as the California State Senator representing the 3rd District including San Francisco. He was elected in 2008 and is the first openly gay man to serve in the Senate. Leno was previously one of the first two openly gay men to serve in the Assembly. Most recently, he was successful in passing legislation known as SB 48 FAIR Education Act to add Gay History to the school curriculum and was signed by Governor Jerry Brown on July 14, 2011.
  • Youth Advocacy Award: Judge Donna Groman. Judge Groman has served as an openly lesbian judicial officer since 1997. She is presently the Supervising Judge of Kenyon Juvenile Justice Center, a juvenile delinquency court in South Los Angeles. Prior assignments include criminal and juvenile dependency.
  • Mentorship Award: Assemblyman: Anthony Portantino. Assemblyman Portantino has represented the 44th Assembly District since his election to the Assembly in November 2006. Assemblyman Portantino has worked with the HIV/AIDS community on bills that help make it easier to diagnose and support HIV positive patients.

Celebrities HERO Awards 2011Some of the celebrity guests expected to attend are: Carolyn Hennesy (Actress), Sara Rue (Actress), Syesha Mercado (Singer, American Idol), Yvette Yates (Actress), Phoebe Price (Actress), Louis Van Amstel (ABC’s Dancing w/the Stars), Jesse Garcia (Actor) and Gloria Bigelow (Comedian & LOGO TV).


About The HERO Awards:
The Annual HERO Awards, now in its fifth year, recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the rights of the LGBT Community. Past recipients include: Congresswoman Judy Chu, Maria Elena Durazo, Karina Samala, Fmr. Congresswoman/US Ambassador Diane E. Watson, West Hollywood City Council Member Jeffrey Prang and Jorge Valencia. For more information visit http://stonewallyoungdems.org/heroes

Stonewall Young Democrats Los AngelesAbout SYD: Founded in 2004, Stonewall Young Democrats is a community of dedicated youth passionate about political and societal issues. They strive to give voice to LGBTQ youth and take action in a grassroots manner on matters of both local and national significance. For more information visit www.stonewallyoungdems.org

Photos credit to:  The Stonewall Young Democrats
Source:  The Stonewall Young Democrats, Examiner.com 

Editor’s Note: Our publication Diversity News Magazine, published by Diversity News Publications is a proud sponsor of the 2011 5th Annual HERO Awards. We want to congratulate all the Honorees.